The Capoeira Blog


5 Ways To Learn About Capoeira
August 14, 2007, 9:24 am
Filed under: Tips & Guides

Once you’ve caught the capoeira bug, it seems impossible to cure. There’s something about capoeira–whether it’s the awesome acrobatics, or the mysterious history, or the playfulness of the game–that begs you to learn more about it.

And if you know where to look, it’s not really hard to do.

1. Talk to a capoeirista. This is kind of a no-brainer, but I’m going to point it out anyway. If you know someone who does capoeira, or if you know someone who’s brother’s cousin’s wife does capoeira, ask them questions! There is no better way to learn about anything than from first hand knowledge.

An experienced capoeirista will be able to tell you about the history, movements, culture, mestres, language, music, you get the hint. He may even be able to point you towards a group you can join (most likely the one he belongs to).

2. Read capoeira books. Back in the old days when people wanted to learn something, they’d go to a library. I don’t think libraries exist anymore. But I know books still do! (I’m joking of course, libraries are wonderful things.)

I could go on and make a list of some good capoeira books to get you started, but, wait… I already did! So go out and Buy Some Capoeira Books.

3. Read capoeira blogs and websites. The internet is a wonderful resource. Why don’t I get you started on your journey down the information highway of capoeira?

Depart from Planet Capoeira, take a right at the Capoeira.com Forums, left at the lights near Capoeira Espaco, go around the rotary near Capoeira Connection, stop and take some time to shop at Virtual Capoeira, go straight down Capoeira Blog lane, and then end back here at The Capoeira Blog. As with any trip, feel free to meander and let the road take you wherever it may go.

4. Browse articles on Wikipedia. It’s widely known that Wikipedia is not the most reliable source of information on the internet. But that doesn’t stop it from being wicked awesome and a great place to start on any search for information.

Actually, a lot of the capoeira articles on Wikipedia are quite good. You’ll find links to websites and other sources of information as well. Just be careful that you don’t get sucked in for hours.

5. Search for videos on YouTube. Type in “capoeira” on YouTube and you’ll find about 21,600 videos. Not all of them are great, but many of them are.

You’ll actually be able to see capoeira in action (much better than reading a description) and listen to the music that is such an integral part of the game. YouTube videos are a great way to learn new movements and techniques, and also to get a feel for new styles.

This is part of of my guide beginner’s guide to capoeira. If you like what you read here, head over to Capoeira For Beginners for the entire series!

11 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Thanks for the shoutout to Planet Capoeira. Appreciate it. Love what you’re doing here Faisca. Great addition to the whole Capoeira internet thang.

Comment by Brian

My pleasure, Brian! Glad you like the blog =)

Comment by faisca

Great, idea love the blog, Virtual Capoeira site link great for berimbau video clips.
Shoutout to anyone in North Lancashire, we have a group in Lancaster, check our Facebook site!

Muito Axe
Charlie

Comment by Charlie

I have been trying to get my hands on Gerard Taylor’s books unfortunately they do not send to this part of the world (Goa, India). Could you let me know how i can get my hands on a copy?

Comment by Ze

Unfortunately for me it is only me who knows a little about Capoeira here in Goa. I have been trying to make a bit of a noise but mostly all i can hear is an echo. The closest capoeirista is 600Kms away from me. I am tring to use my martial arts background to learn from Mestre Nestor Capoeira’s books. Please if you have some tips on doing the Queda de Rins I would be obliged.

Comment by Ze

Hi Ze,

Do you know if there is now any capoeira in Goa? I have heard about some rodas on Arambol beach, do you know any more about it?

Comment by Rita

Ze, do you have an email address so I could send you an email? I plan on doing more tutorials (like my au batido one) about other capoeira movements, but I haven’t had time to make them yet. The queda de rins is on the list, but I can send you an email and give you some pointers.

In regards to the books, I’m not sure how you’d be able to get the books if they aren’t sent to your part of the world. The best thing you can do is watch videos on YouTube and learn from Nestor’s book the best you can. Nestor’s book gives good explanations and techniques for the basic movements, and once you get those down you have a good foundation. Again, I can tell you more in an email.

Comment by faisca

Hey Faisca,
My email is ze_belchior@rediffmail.com, thanks for the time. I am currently refering to Mestre Nestor Capoeira’s books and lots of research on You tube and your blogs. I am having a lot of trouble with Queda de rins for the past 6 weeks. I would be ever obliged if you send me the tips.

Comment by Ze

A very Happy Christmas and all the very best in the year 2008 :o) Ole

Comment by Ze

Another tip: Learn as much Portuguese as you can and go to Brazil. There you will experience Capoeira in context. Portuguese language will also open you up to much better books and more importantly the wisdom of the majority of masters and teachers who do not speak English.

Comment by Futa

excelente!

Comment by Jairo




Leave a Reply

