The Capoeira Blog


How Far Do You Go For Capoeira?
August 28, 2007, 12:55 pm
Filed under: Questions

Some people are lucky and have capoeira schools right down the street.  Others aren’t so lucky and may have to drive for a few hours to practice.

I’m thinking about getting my own apartment, and if I did it would cause me to live an hour from my capoeira group.  This sucks, because right now I only live about 15 minutes away, and I don’t know if I’m gonna be up for driving 2 hours each day to go to capoeira. 

What about you?  How close/far do you live?  Do you have a long drive or just a short walk?

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I have a 10-15 minute drive, I’m fortunate, most of the other students have to commute, one has to drive about one hour for class. And another I know that goes to class, who’s really good and playing for a couple years goes up to New Jersey on the weekends and to different schools on off time of the schools, and he resides in Maryland.

-Phil

Comment by Phil

Me i been driving from New Jersey to New York City in 2 Hours of heavy traffic between 6pm-8pm. Worst hours to travel ever in my area, as everyone is getting out of work.

Comment by compromisso

Yikes, I guess I don’t have it that bad after all.

Comment by faisca

Wow!! We have a capoeira school jersey city!! Come check us out!!

Comment by raizes do brasil nj

I don’t know of one near me :/
The closest to me is dallas which is an hour but I don’t have a car right now. I was thinking of calling the school out there and asking if they can have a Roda out here. I was thinking of having my church included and make it a big community party thing with food and capoeira music. You think they’d be interested if I called them about it?
It’d be my only chance to even experience a roda as I’m the only capoeira guy forever.

Comment by Jonsul




Leave a Reply

