The Capoeira Blog


Capoeira Video: Brazil
September 24, 2007, 11:35 am
Filed under: Videos

Every day this week I’m going to post a new video in an effort to showcase capoeira around the world.

This won’t be a perfect undertaking. Take the USA for example: I can’t post 50 videos covering the 50 states. So I’m going to do my best to find videos that I think show some great capoeira in different countries, no matter what city or region they are from.

Today we’ll start with the birthplace of capoeira, Brazil.

You don’t understand how hard it was to find an actual capoeira video with great footage that was actually straight from Brazil (and not Capoeira Brazil Israel, for example). As far as I can tell, this is all from Brazil.

Update: A sharp eyed commenter pointed out that this video may not be from Brazil after all.  There are scenes where you can see the Grande Arche de la Défense which is in Paris.  If you need me, I’ll be over in a corner inserting my foot into my mouth.

7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

[…] Capoeira Video: BrazilYou don’t understand how hard it was to find an actual capoeira video with great footage that was actually straight from Brazil (and not Capoeira Brazil Israel, for example). As far as I can tell, this is all from Brazil. […]

Pingback by Brazil » Blog Archives » Social media and the Internet in Brazil

Great video. How did you find it? Well done too.

Comment by Petr

I found it just by searching around on YouTube. You can find some great capoeira videos on there (and some not so great ones too, oh well).

Comment by faisca

Hey, it’s a video from Bahia, right? I love this one, so tight..

Comment by Pixador

great i love capoeira

Comment by warakorn

I hate to tell you this, but I think this is actually from France. In some of the outdoor footage you can see a large arch that I beleive is Le Grande Arche D’la Defense.

Comment by Lua Negra

Lua Negra, I assumed this was from Brazil because everything about the video points to Brazil (the website name, the comments on the video, etc.)

Now that I look into it, I can see that those outside shots with the arch are definitely where you said (in France). Hmm… That’s annoying…

Shows you how many times I’ve been to France and Brazil!

Comment by faisca




Leave a Reply

