The Capoeira Blog


Thanksgiving Is Almost Here, What Are You Thankful For?
November 20, 2007, 4:22 pm
Filed under: Off Topic, Questions

thanksgiving
Photo by pKolari (Flickr)

Depending on where you live there may be a dusting of snow outside, people are preparing for a nice little vacation, and you can almost smell the turkey in the air already; well, in the United States anyway.

That’s right, Thanksgiving is upon us.

Thanksgiving is a time when we’re supposed to reflect on the things for which we’re thankful, when we should give thanks to the people and experiences that have touched our lives in some way during the past year.

My question to you in preparation of this time of thanks is:

What are you thankful for?

I’ve said it before but I’ll say it again (because I can’t say it enough), I owe a huge thank you to all of you out there in internet-land who have supported me while The Capoeira Blog takes its first baby steps.

I’m also thankful for my friends in the capoeira world, both in my group and otherwise, who have helped me to learn new movements (macaco, martelo rodado) and who have given me new insight into capoeira that I seen before.

Lastly, I’m thankful that by the time I finish this post I’ll be able to stop typing the word thankful over and over again.

Is there a certain person, perhaps an instructor or fellow student, who has helped you grow as a capoeirista? Do you owe a thank you to your ankle for healing and allowing you to keep practicing? Or maybe you want to say thanks to the pioneers of capoeira for giving us such a great gift.

So again, what are you thankful for? Leave a comment and let us know! This is a capoeira blog after all, so it would be cool if you could tailor your answer to a general capoeira theme. But please feel free to share anything you want.

I know there’s one thing that we can all be thankful about: capoeira provides us with an excellent way to work off that huge Thanksgiving dinner! Eat as much turkey and stuffing as you want, just make sure to add some extra armadas to your next workout!

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

There is so much I am thankful for! Thank you to my instructors and fellow Capoeiristas in Michigan for all that you have taught me!! I am looking forward to another year of learning! I am so thankful for my Capo family!! And thank you Mascarada (my neice) for introducing me to Capoeira!!

Comment by Espelho

I’m so thankful that capoeira found me this year, that I found my academy and that it’s filled with the most welcoming people I’ve ever met, I’m thankfull for my body rising to the challenge of training, for my joints handling the stress and healing quickly, and definitely for my confidence growing and maturing inside the roda and out!

Comment by Jasmim

FREEDOM!!!! And capoeira, and health and FREEDOM again.. till it’s taken away you have no idea how amazing it is..

Comment by Pixador




Leave a Reply

