The Capoeira Blog


Some British Guy To Get a Castrated Rooster Tatoo in Honor of Capoeira
May 1, 2008, 12:19 pm
Filed under: Misc

Yeah.

That face you’re making?  That’s pretty much the same response I had to this story from the UK’s Now Magazine.

Russell Brand has reportedly become so hooked on the Brazilian non-contact martial art capoeira that he’s planning to get a tattoo of a castrated rooster on his back.

The Portuguese word capoeira derives from capon, which means a castrated rooster.

So Russ, 32, hopes the design will show the world his dedication to the sport.

He wouldn’t want to get a berimbau or something actually capoeira related?? 

Incidentally, to mestres of old the idea of getting a capoeira tattoo is totally contrary to what capoeira stands for, i.e., you weren’t supposed to announce to the world that you were a capoeirista.  (Update: I now know where I read about this; it was over at Mandingueira!).

There is no agreement that the word “capoeira” comes from the Portuguese word for chicken.  The chicken idea is only one of many theories.

I’ve never even heard of Russell Brand before in my life, but this was too good to pass up, really.  Apparently he’s a comedian.  Do I have any British readers who can share some insight about this guy?

This is Russell Brand
This is Russell Brand (image from The Sun)

While we’re on the subject… 

Do any of you have capoeira tattoos?  If so, let us know in the comments.  Or, better yet, if you have pictures on Flickr or other photo-sharing sights, either post a link or send me an email.  I’d love to do a post showcasing cool capoeira tattoos!

12 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I am British.

Russell Brand is one of the worst no-talent hacks to ever make it big in UK showbiz.

He was initially renowned for holding down a job at MTV UK despite being addicted to every substance imaginable. He finally lost his job when he showed up dressed as Osama Bin Laden on September 12, 2001.

Subsequently, a spell in rehab cleaned him up. He then became the presenter of a companion show to the UK version of Big Brother and a serial nailer of attractive women, implausible though that may seem.

He is, apparently, very funny, although his entire schtick consists entirely of having stupid hair and talking far louder than is necessary, alternating between highly articulate speech and primitive baby talk. Oh, and he wears impossibly tight pants. Like picture the tightest abadas ever and x100.

I now shudder at the idea that when I say I play capoeira, people will say “Oh! You mean like Russell Brand does!”

(That article is riddled with inaccuracies. But I hate them less than I hate Russell Brand.)

Comment by Dan

What Dan said.

Russell Brand is a tadpole. And a bibble.

How he ever became as popular as he is just makes me shake my head with sadness at the state of the nation.

Comment by Mem

Yikes. I just read the actual article…there was maybe one sentence in the entire thing that actually made any sense or could’ve passed as completely valid. Your “but that’s only a theory!” part was the absolute first thing that jumped into my head when I read this, too. Wouldn’t he feel totally silly if the history of the name turned out to have nothing to do with chickens or roosters at all?

By the way, I think the part about mestres and capoeira tattoos was from me, lol. I mentioned it in my “What Capoeiristas Can Learn from the Fall of Enron” post, in the part where I talked about the importance of being discreet/modest about what you can do. 🙂 (Though credit on my part, in turn, goes to Greg Downey!)
I’m also curious to hear about other people’s capoeira tattoos. Sometimes I feel like I want one, but then I’m stopped by, first, the pain and thought of an ink-filled needle being dragged through my skin, and second but more importantly, I’ve seen so many capoeiristas with tattoos that I wouldn’t want to feel like I’m following a trend or falling into a capoeira “cliche”…or maybe that’s just me?

Comment by Joaninha

Joaninha that’s definitely where I read it! I had a feeling it was from your blog, but I couldn’t find the exact post.

And thanks for the insight on Mr. Brand, guys. I had a feeling he was a bit of a wanker (I’m from America, can I say that?), and you certainly confirmed my suspicions.

I didn’t even want to get into the other innacuracies in the article (“non-contact martial art”????) because I didn’t want to get too angry.

Comment by faisca

“He’s got a real talent for the gymnastics needed to be a capoeira master..”

Oh Christ!

He is a loud, talentless, hack! I wouldn’t worry about him being associated with Capoeira, I mean how much of a future in showbiz could he have? he is bound to go the way of Big Brother….oh, wait….damn…

Comment by Highlander

Not yet. I’m waiting until my Batizado in August to get a tattoo, not to mention until I have the cash. I figure it will be something to do with my apelido. I’m into doing things uniquely, yet still with taste, so it’s going to take some planning. It took me 2 years to decide on a final design just for the cross on my back. I’ll probably incorporate it into that somehow.

Comment by Pipoca

Hahahahahahahaha! This guy is crazyyy! And not Capoeira crazy – that’s a different craziness, it needs treatment, you know!…

Why a castrated rooster as a tatoo? Why not the grass – which also has roots to the word of Capeora? Hahahaha!!! Castrated rooster… How is that going to show on the tatoo?!?! lololol

I am not very much into tatoos – yeah, I could watch nice designs etc. – but not so excited to have it on my skin…

Axeeeeee!!!

Comment by Mariposa

Hahahahahahahaha! This guy is crazyyy! And not Capoeira crazy – that’s a different craziness, it needs treatment, you know!…

Why a castrated rooster as a tatoo? Why not the grass – which also has roots to the word of Capeoeira? Hahahaha!!! Castrated rooster… How is that going to show on the tatoo?!?! lololol

I am not very much into tatoos – yeah, I could watch nice designs etc. – but not so excited to have it on my skin…

Axeeeeee!!!

Comment by Mariposa

something is wrong with my keyboard – I tried to correct the typo in the word Capoeira (yesss!!! it came out right now!!!)
🙂

Axeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!!!

Comment by Mariposa

Hi, I’m british, I don’t know much about Russel Brand but I can tell you that the Daily Star is an example of crap tabloid journalism, and the whole article is probably made up.

Comment by rowan

[…] Traditions: Sports, Humour, …Rape? 11 05 2008 While we’re talking about awful British comedians, I had to write about this incident I just read about—because it’s the closest I can […]

Pingback by Cultural Traditions: Sports, Humour, …Rape? « Mandingueira

If this guy is the prick you guys say he is, and he knows as much about capoeira as a fish knows about figure skating, I realy want him to get that tattoo and show it to the world.
B-E-A-utiful. Who makes this stuff up? Hilarious, thanks for sharing it Faísca. Abraço.

Comment by Cantor




Leave a Reply

