The Capoeira Blog


Off Topic: Bald Faisca or Hirsute Faisca?
May 20, 2008, 7:35 pm
Filed under: Faisca, Off Topic

Yeah, this post really doesn’t have anything at all to do with capoeira. But this is my blog, and I can do stuff like this every now and then! ๐Ÿ™‚

The title of this post gets straight to the question:

Should I…

Shave the head? (Excuse my roommate’s huge mug, this is one of the only bald pics I could find)

baldfaisca

Or keep the hair?

I’m going to be very open with you here.

The reason I ask, and the problem I have in general, is because I’m going bald.

Yep, I’m 23 years old, and the top of my head is thinning like I’m 40. It’s not very fun. 20 years from now I’m definitely gonna have the full around the sides, bald on top, monk-hair.

You can definitely tell from the front that my temples and hairline are thinning (or maybe only I can). And, when my hair is short (like buzzed, or even just trimmed short) you can see the thinning line in the back of my head, which really sucks. Right now, I keep the top kinda long so it covers up the thinning (it’s not like a comb over, I’m not that bad yet), and I try to keep the “bangs” trimmed somewhat manageable (I don’t really like the “parted in the middle” or “parted on the side” look I’ve been getting lately with the long front).

I’m at the point, where I’m thinking that if I shave my head, it’s gonna stay that way for a long time. Because I don’t enjoy knowing the back of my head looks like this as it grows out:

Now, a lot of people are like “Faisca, who cares if you’re thinning, you’re the only one who notices, you’re the only one who cares” etc. It’s all true, but anyone who knows me personally knows that I’ve always been a big fan of my hair. And any guys out there will probably agree; going bald can be kinda traumatic. Especially when we’re inundated with images in the media of celebrities and models with full heads of awesome hair who are supposed to be the pinnacle of male attractiveness. (Note to women: guys feel the pressure of media stereotypes just as much as gals do.)

So, I ask you my dear readers and friends. Do you think I should shave my head and accept my baldness like a younger Bruce Willis? Or do you think I should keep the hair, cut it a bit shorter, and just suck up the thinness?

12 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I got the same problem and at the same age. Keep the hair to the point when the monkeybutt is starting to appear, then shave/trim it very short.

Comment by Soneca

hi faisca ๐Ÿ™‚
i had the same problem back in 1999. i had long hair (down to my back) and it began thinning more and more. i decided not to look like karl lagerfeld and shaved it down. as you said, bruce willis and a lot of other cool guys around are bald. i don’T give a damn today, but 1999 it was a hard step to go. don’t worry, shave that head and it will look clean and cool. not like “oh my hair goes out and i try to hide it” :)tough guys don’t comb the hair over the baldness ;)the only thing that i miss is the headbanging ๐Ÿ˜€

Comment by Aranha

Maybe shave it once just to see how it looks. Personally I think if you’re going bald just buzz the rest and keep it short. I’ve known many men with a receding hairline and the one’s who keep it buzzed rather than shaved look better. Less glare, too. Some people just don’t have a head shaped for the Howe Mandell look…such as Howe Mandell. Maybe you do. Best of luck.

Comment by Patrick

I really like the bald / shaved head look… It really suits you…plus it’ll save you the trouble of worrying every second whether peeps notice your thinning hair or what not ๐Ÿ™‚

Comment by Bolinha

You know? I’m feeling the same question (but different reasoning) for my hair… And it really does come down to you making a decision. (I’m just really indecisive…)

Comment by Leรฃo

Faisca, go bold – you look sexy!!!

Comment by Mariposa

Bald, before everyone notices!

Comment by baqueta

Bald is the new fro! lol Seriously, just whack it off and bic it! Have fun. I’m gonna do the same thing when I start balding badly. Right now I’m just thinning so it’s not too bad. I’m also 23. Sad times…sad times. lol

Comment by Pipoca

I have always said that if I lose much more hair I was going to do the same thing. Go for it man!!

Axe!

Comment by Mike

Wow, the answer seems to be a resounding, “BALD!”

I do like the way I look when I shave my head. I don’t “bic” it, because I don’t really like the smooth shiny really really bald look. I just use hair trimmers with no attachment.

The only thing holding me back is that if I shave it now, I’m probably gonna keep it that way for a long while, cuz I hate how it looks when it’s growing back. And I’m not sure if I wanna take the plunge.

Comment by faisca

Bald + beard = Mem sitting in a puddle.

In all fairness, I think my opinion is somewhat biased as my other half shaves his head all super smooth (as well as sporting a rather fetching beard) and I am crazy about it.

Furthermore, I have been a shaven-headed girl for the past three years. So, yes, I am extremely fond of the bald look!

Comment by Mem

Happy Halloween my friends! ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ™‚

Comment by CoittackinC




Leave a Reply

