The Capoeira Blog


What Is The Chamada In Capoeira Angola?
May 22, 2008, 7:56 pm
Filed under: Tips & Guides


Photo by bk. ninja (Flickr)

I’ve always been fascinated by capoeira angola; I love the playful yet dangerous dynamic that exists in the game.

I’m not an expert on angola by any means, but I think one of the best examples of this dynamic exists in the Chamada, which, up until a few days ago, I was woefully ignorant about.

One of the reasons I’ve never participated in an angola roda is because I would have no idea about what I’m doing, and that holds me back because I have tons of respect for the traditions and rules of the angola game.  Of these traditions, I think it’s really the Chamada that has held me back the most;  I’d have no idea what to do if someone called me to one.  And the last thing I’d want to do is make a mockery of capoeira angola by ignoring it or trying to make something up.

Thanks to Angoleiro’s blog, I now know more about the Chamada than I ever have.  I don’t think watching a couple of videos and reading a blog post makes me ready to jump into an angola roda, but his post about the Chamada is very informative, and I’m glad he decided to write about it.

Go check it out, I’m sure you can learn something too!

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I am not sure how I feel about jumping into a roda without a full understanding of the inherent dynamics of what you are literally getting yourself into, but I think, believe, or maybe just hope that maybe that if you step into a roda of Angola with respect, and the ability to adapt to changing circumstance and surprises, that you should be fine. Even if you don’t know all the tradition, you can learn by being a part of it. It may well be awkward, but if you just let yourself understand while immersed… maybe this is how people once learned these things, no?

If you enter with respect, I think it is unlikely that you would do something offensive.

Just an opinion
>sean/descalco

Comment by Sean (Descalco)

I like Sean’s statement. He is right that respect is one of the most important values you can have when you step into a Roda – any Roda. Lack of respect will result in problems faster than you can do a cartwheel.
But (and we all knew a “but” would come…) every piece of knowledge you have beforehand is highly valuable in any cases. There is only three ways to know that a Chamada is actually one of the more dangerous situations in a Capoeira Angola Roda. To be told, to see or to experience. Although experience is the best teacher, sometimes I prefer to learn by seeing or being told.
Still, if you have the chance to play in a Capoeira Angola Roda, just do so. Don’t back away cause you don’t know all the rituals. Nobody expects it from you, so everything you know beforehand is not only an advantage but a nice surprise for everybody in the Roda.

Comment by Angoleiro

oh… and I have to add: Thanks Faisca for linking me! I feel honoured!

Axé

Comment by Angoleiro

Keep your guard up. Look out for cabecada or banda from a tricky opponent trying to lull you into a false sense of rhythm and security. When you take the space they offer you be ready to immediately esquiva or drop to negativa. Enjoy the full body chess match.

Comment by Patrick

wow! that’s me in the pic! I’m the one on the left, responding to the chamada 😀

this was taken at the FICA women’s conference in March 2008. good times 🙂

Comment by Shayna

Cool stuff, Shayna! I was wondering when I’d find a picture of a reader on Flickr.

Comment by faisca




Leave a Reply

