The Capoeira Blog


The Capoeira Blog’s One Year Anniversary Contest!
June 2, 2008, 9:06 am
Filed under: Blog

One year ago this month I sat down at my computer and decided to start a blog about capoeira. If you had told me then, that a year later, my words would have been read by thousands of people around the world, I would have laughed at you.

I didn’t set out to become any kind of authority on capoeira–and I’m still nothing of the sort–but I can’t deny that people have and will continue to come here to The Capoeira Blog to read my posts, and I really couldn’t be prouder of what I’ve accomplished.

So, what have I accomplished?

57,000 hits. Almost 1,000 fans on Facebook. An average of 300 page views a day (for the past couple of months). Over 100 posts (though, I wouldn’t mind if this were more). And I’ve met some great people.

Here are some of the top posts from the past year:

How To Get Better At Capoeira

Building Strength, Flexibility, and Balance For Capoeira

Capoeira For Beginners

How To Do An Au Batido

Common Capoeira Injury: How To Treat An Ankle Sprain

The 5 Best Strength Training Exercises For Over The Holidays (And Anytime!)

8 Ways To Be A Better Capoeira Instructor

Capoeira Is A Conversation

Why Is Capoeira an Art Form And Not a Martial Art?

Is Capoeira Viable as Self Defense?

The Ways We Describe Capoeira

And, the fact of the matter is, that I wouldn’t be anywhere if it weren’t for you guys, my wonderful readers, who have supported me, dealt with my breaks, spread the word, and have been willing to actually read what I have to say.

So, to celebrate this milestone,

I’m going to give away one month’s subscription to Learn Capoeira.

How can you get in on this action? It’s easy. All you have to do is leave a comment on this post. And when I say comment, I don’t mean just dropping in to say “hi” or something; I’d appreciate it if you took the time to write at least one sentence.

The contest closes on June 9th, and I’ll announce the lucky capoeirista on the 10th. The winner will be chosen by a random winner generator so that all is fair.

So, there you have it. I hope you’ve enjoyed the ride as much as I have, and I hope you’ll stay with me for the next 12 months!

Thank you!

27 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Thanks for keeping this up, mister! As a new capoeirista, your blog has been invaluable during this early stage. Happy anniversary! xxx

Comment by Mem

Well, I discovered this blog by casuality, and I´m still here, so… It must be a good blog! So keep up the good work.
Axe

Comment by baqueta

Congrats Faisca, thanks for sharing and keep up the good work!

Comment by Highlander

Parabems!!

I just started to read your blog, like a month ago, I came through mandingeira’s blog.

After reading your blog I’m willing to go back to Capoeira. I trained for 4 years and it’s been a year since I stopped. I had several reasons to do it, but I still miss it a lot. So I might be back soon.

Muito Obrigada!!

Comment by Liss

Dear Faisca,
Ever since my obsession with capoeira has begun some time february this year, I’ve been reading your posts religiously over my morning coffee, :). Thanks for the writing, the thoughts, the advice, the pat on the back and the laughter with tears that I get when you post odd 80s songs.
Congrats!

Comment by Cereja

Faisca,

congratulations on your popularity sir, its well deserved, look forward to future rodas . . .

Comment by Urso

Well, well Faisca. You have hit a milestone. I can’t think of anyone more deserving.

I came by accident to The Capoeira Blog; just Googling Capoeira to see what is out on the web. Lo and behold you started an obsession.

I had never gotten into the blogosphere before, but now I am hooked.

Here is to hoping I get lucky and win the free month of Learn Capoeira.

Not that I will care if I don’t. It is all about the love anyway!

Obrigado Faisca. Axe!

Comment by Mike

A YEAR?! Wow. Congrats! I can’t remember when I first started reading but I know I won’t stop until you stop posting stuff. It has been a great few months for me and I look forward to many more in the future! God Bless you.

Oh!! I plan on buying more shirts and stuff as well. I bought one recently and love wearing it downtown when I go out!

Comment by Pipoca

Ola Camara!

Bro, what started off as a little bit of worktime procrastination has now become my addiction to surfing the web for Capoeira related…everything. Bro, your blog is awesome and I hope it keep it coming.

Axe, from a Capoeirista in New Zealand
Matt

Comment by Matt from New Zealand

Well, our group has been around some time and at some point we had a website with a forum for the locals (we’re all over Belgium). This disappeared and now some 8y or so later I started a website and a blog, again for the locals. I hope mine lasts for at least 1 year 🙂 and I hope yours may have a long life too. Congrats!

Comment by Cantor

I started capoiera training 3 months ago and this sit has been a valuable resource. Keep up the good work, I’m sure I am not the only one who appreciates it.

Comment by Brian

Wow – 1 year – I found you on yahoo search for capoeira songs, I was looking for “Dois Capoeiras” glad I signed up – I love reading your posts and comments that are left 🙂

Energy!!

Comment by Arara

Congratulations on your success! I was really happy to find your blog. I am still new to Capoeira and was searching form more info on terminology when I came across your site. Of course I subscribed and have been enjoying the posts ever since. I am really looking forward to more posts about the music!

Again Congrats on your success!

Comment by Belle

Hiya. I’ve been reading your site for quite a while now and I have found so many new and interesting things that I never new about caopeira. So thanks and keep up the good work.

Comment by Dan

I started capoeira in Jan. of this year but I have been interested for years now…. just never had time. I check your blog every time I am on the internet now. Thanks for the information and new links to completely new websites on capoeira.

Comment by Fantasma

Thanks Faisca for an interesting and informative blog, and links (follow them). I’m definitely going to keep reading, this is the only blog that I’ve subscribed to by e.mail. Thanks again Faisca for your time and effort.
Rowan

Comment by Rowan

I’ve had the privilege of interacting with Jamaica of Virtual Capoeira and Learn Capoeira at local batizados. He’s awesome–as is this blog. Keep it up, Faisca!

Comment by Predio

Hello !

Great job for your blog ! I don’t really know how I found it anymore but I like it. It is a great base of information for me who have to wait until September to begin capoeira, and I read like mad, not only you but also all the links I can find on your blog.

So, sorry for the bad english, and thank you very much !

Malaika.

Comment by Malaika

“Hi”

Just kidding. Haha. (That “Haha” looks so ronery out there, just all “Haha.” with a mere period… let’s spice it up.)

HaHa! (Much better…)

Anyhooz, jeeeeehoosafet, Sherrif, (new contest, name that quote) whodda known you’d git so marny derned viewers. I musta been rubbin’ off on ye all dis dere time. (Anyone who reads that homo-erotically is a communist)

I’d say congrats, but I’ll be a-waiten’ fer dat dere contest victory o’ moin- I mean, yours (I mean mine). 😉

I’s been a browsin’ every now and agin’ (and postin’ a bit) and you’ve made yerself quite the dandy lil’ blogger here. Now I’lls a stop butterin’ up the judge (nudge, nudge wink, wink) and leave yeh too the decidin’ (of me (as winner)).

Comment by WorldWarCheese

Happy Birthday, blog!

May you continue to let Faisca update you for years to come yet : you’re an excellent resource, dammit!

Comment by Dan

This is my Favorite Blog. And the ONLY one I actually check on a regular basis. Keep up the good work.

Comment by Mike

Faisca,

Been a capoeirista for two years and reading your blog for about 8 months. Your topics are very helpful and you write with such honesty as to the things you experience as a capoeirista. Congrats on the year and we all look forward to many more to come…

Comment by Jamey (Lobo)

[…] Top Posts 6 Keys to Building Upper-Body StrengthThe Capoeira Blog’s One Year Anniversary Contest!Capoeira For BeginnersMovementsHow To Get Better At […]

Pingback by Reminder: The LearnCapoeira Contest Ends Today « The Capoeira Blog

I love reading this blog since it is such a valuable resource for capoeira tips and advice aside form trainning. Thanks for taking the time to share it 🙂

Comment by Maracuja

Just found your blog a week or so ago, I’ve been reading all the old articles. Trying to learn everything I can about Brazil and Capoeira. Really like your articles, good info 😉

Comment by Brian Hartvigsen

really nice blog you got here! keep up the good work.

Comment by joeli

hi i am from indonesia, was here just visit…..

Comment by deni




Leave a Reply

