The Capoeira Blog


Capoeira Video: Capoeira: Fight or Dance?
June 13, 2008, 9:41 am
Filed under: Misc

It’s been a while since I’ve posted a video, so here’s one for you. Johanna from Vancouver I AM forwarded this video to me on Facebook, and I wanted to share it with you all.

Click here to see the video. For some reason, I can’t figure out how to embed it in the post.

I’m glad she passed it on when she did, because it ties in well with the music series we’re running at the moment. Unlike other “what is capoeira” or “capoeira is awesome” videos I’ve seen, this one spends a lot of time going over how important music is to capoeira, and doesn’t just focus on backflips and kicks.

At around the 1:00 mark Mestre Eclilson de Jesus starts talking about the music in capoeira, and he goes over each of the instruments and their role, which is great. At 2:40 he goes into how important it is for capoeiristas to learn Portuguese, and gives a great explanation of the way songs are used to comment on the game (I really liked this part).

So, check it out. I hope you enjoy!

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

This gave me chills. Excellent find!

Comment by Mem

Awesome video. Very cool.

Comment by Pipoca




Leave a Reply

